one year in the USA, a review - Reisverslag uit Alexandria, Verenigde Staten van Maureen - WaarBenJij.nu one year in the USA, a review - Reisverslag uit Alexandria, Verenigde Staten van Maureen - WaarBenJij.nu

one year in the USA, a review

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Maureen

06 Februari 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Alexandria

The past year flew by, especially after the half-year-mark!
Before I came to the USA, I had no expectations, it wasn't my so called "American Dream". Being an Au Pair went well with my degree and the USA is far away, because I needed some distance.

Culture shock?
To be honest, I have never felt as if I live in a totally different country and that I'm far away. The only real reminder is the time difference. Though there were obviously things I had to get used to; driving around, always giving tips when you go out, the early time that a bar closes and that I always have to show my ID!

My American family!
Of course I am talking about my hostfamily, they made me feel at home right away and I have felt part of their family ever since. The kids and I have built nice relationships, the boys can almost say my name(Mo-ween) and they've developed and changed soooo much! Almost every day they surprise me, even though the terrible two's a.k.a. toddlerpuberty is very present.
Besides this awesome family I'm also talking about the community I'm living in, my au pair friends, friends from concert band and the people I talk to at the playground and JW Tumbles (a gym for kids!).

Music!
Ever since I was six years old, music has been a big part of my life. Needless to say that I took my saxophone with me and went to look for a concert band immediately. After a terrible experience with a band, I did meet another saxophone player (Jairo) and an au pair (Nadine, who lived 5 minutes away from me!). Thanks to the former I found the NOVA band, which has turned out to be a great place. I have met some awesome people there.
Then there was karaoke, something that I had never done and never thought I would like! In the first few weeks my hostfamily's first au pair Nicky, took me to the "Flying Fish" a nice bar, but kinda tiny. In August I went to the "Rock It Grill" and I've been going there basically every weekend.

Ch ch changes
First of all my view on the USA, I have never cared about this country. It was just a big country full of contradictions and extremes. Traveling here was never on my mind, but I am glad I came. The friends I have made and the experience I've gained, it's something I never want to lose. Now I know for sure that as long as I've got friends and loved ones around me I can live anywhere.
Second is the fact that, even though I love the kids a lott, I don't want kids for at least quite a few years. And that I never want to be a stay-at-home-mom (not offending my own mother, who has done an awesome job!).
Third is that I know for sure that I want to see more countries!

Weight gain???
Everybody told me when they heard I was going here that I would gain weight. I did, but I also lost it all again, with some diet changes, walking in stead of using the car and a gym membership.

Saying goodbye
Since being an au pair is only temporarily, saying goodbye is inevitable! I've said goodbye to four awesome friends so far. Nadine, Liesbeth, Ingrid and Nan.

The future...
For as far as I know, I will be back in The Netherlands in a little over 13 months. For now all I can do is sing: "Whooah, I'm half way there"

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Alexandria

Maureen

Actief sinds 15 Feb. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 457
Totaal aantal bezoekers 35016

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Mei 2016 - 06 Mei 2016

ontdekken

30 Januari 2012 - 26 Februari 2014

Au pair met Activity International

Landen bezocht: